The Call and Commission

10 Apr

Aloha everyone! I feel so weird writing a blog. What do I have to say that is profound enough to deserve a blog? Probably nothing. So if you are looking for something otherworldly and revelatory, you have most definitely come to the wrong place. This is my journey, personal and private, only made public so the glory of the Lord may be known. This blog will document my growth and setbacks, my triumphs and my trials over these next six months as a missionary of the Lord. I am a student of His Word and a servant to His people. He is becoming greater and greater in my life and I am becoming less and less. (John 3:30) I am laying down my job, my comforts, my plans for my future, my family and friends, my desires and my dreams so that I may come to Him empty-handed, ready and willing to serve the one true and living God.

For those of you that are confused at this point, let me catch you up. I left my comfortable two-bedroom apartment in sunny Southern California on April 8th, 2010 in exchange for a top bunk in a dorm of 8 girls in Kona, Hawaii. I am a student in the PhotogenX Discipleship Training School at the University of the Nations, a part of Youth With a Mission (YWAM). PhotogenX is at its core a group of young people bent on bringing the love of Jesus Christ to all people, everywhere in the world.  We are passionate about using photography to fight injustice and bring equality to all of God’s children. Issues that weigh heavily on the heart of this mission include: sexual slavery, human trafficking, and domestic abuse.

I will be in Kona, being trained as a warrior of God for the next three months. I will be tested, tried, proved and refined until He deems me ready to go out to the nations to spread His gospel. The passage of scripture I have been focusing on is Isaiah 6:5-8.

5″It is all over! I am doomed, for I am a sinful man. I have filthy lips, and I live among a people with filthy lips. Yet I have seen the King, the Lord of Heaven’s Armies.”

6Then one of the seraphim flew to me with a burning coal he had taken from the altar with a pair of tongs.

7He touched my lips with it and said, “See, this coal has touched your lips. Now your guilt is removed, and your sins are forgiven.”

8Then I heard the Lord asking, “Whom should I send as a messenger to this people? Who will go for us?”

I said “HERE I AM, SEND ME.”

I love the process that Isaiah goes through in this passage. He is not overzealous to start his ministry. He recognizes his sin, and his utter uselessness. He desires to go out in the world and advance the Kingdom of the Lord, but he knows he must first be purified. His guilt is removed, and his sins are forgiven, and he accepts the refining willingly. He does not cling to his sin, beat himself up about it, or refuse to move forward.

Then the Lord asks for a volunteer, and Isaiah’s hand shoots up. Here I am. Send me.

I am so ready for this period of my life. Nothing is holding me back from self-examination and moving forward. I am ready and willing to answer the tough questions and do the dirty work so I can be made into something fitting and useful to my King.

2 Timothy 2:20-21

20 In a wealthy home some utensils are made of gold and silver, and some are made of wood and clay. The expensive utensils are used for special occasions, and the cheap ones are for everyday use.

21 If you keep yourself pure, you will be a special utensil for honorable use. Your life will be clean, and you will be ready for the Master to use you for every good work.

After the three months of training in Kona, we will be ready to go on our outreach for three months to put into practice the things we have learned. The decision hasn’t been finalized as to where we are going, but I promise to let you know as soon as I know.

Thank you so much for all your love, prayers, and support. I am so excited about what God has in store. I have been forever changed since my arrival here, and I haven’t even been here a week! I can’t wait to see what our Lord does with six whole months! Please keep praying, and let me know how I can pray for you. I love you all dearly, and miss you already, but I know six months will fly on by. Keep fighting the fight. There are so many souls to be saved, hearts to be touched. There is no greater honor, and no more important work than working for our Lord. We are soldiers in the greatest army in all of creation. Fight on.

Your Sister in Christ,

Erika

3 Responses to “The Call and Commission”

  1. kavadoy April 11, 2010 at 11:28 pm #

    Erika,
    It’s encouraging to see you chronicling your growth in sanctification. I’m thankful for the preordained path that set our ministry into motion and eagerly waiting to see where the Lord takes our combined talent and love for capturing his creation. Looking forward to your continued updates!
    humble servant in Christ,
    Caesar

  2. Teri Gugliotta April 12, 2010 at 5:30 am #

    You are of Great Courage….it’s easy to see our Heavenly Father, shining Big and Brightly inside your heart. I will enjoy keeping up with you in your mission. You are “simply” Amazing.

  3. Paul March 17, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    May God complete his good works in you.

Leave a Reply

