Voice for the Voiceless Assignment

16 Apr

MATTHEW 25:35-40

“For I was hungry, and you gave me something to eat; I was thirsty, and you gave me something to drink; I was a stranger, and you took me in; I was naked, and you clothed me; I was sick, and you visited me; I was in prison, and you came to me. Then the righteous will answer Him, “Lord, when did we see you hungry, and feed you, or thirsty, and give you something to drink? And when did we see you as a stranger, and invite you in, or naked, and clothe you? When did we see you sick, or in prison, and come to you?” The King will answer and say to them, “Truly I say to you, to the extent you have done it to these brothers of mine, even THE LEAST of them, you have done it to me.”

To me, the least of these may have a different face than to others. It is easy to have compassion for third-world babies, victims of human trafficking, the abused, etc., and that is a beautiful thing. We need people to go out to all the nations and bring a voice to the voiceless men, women, and children around the world. My heart is heavy for a different cause, however. My heart bleeds for the forgotten at home. My tears fall for the broken middle-school girl with an eating disorder, the promiscuous teen looking for love in all the wrong places, the college-aged young man struggling to pay his bills, the children of failing marriages, the closet sinner at church that feels they must live a lie to be accepted. My soul cries out for the Pharisees, those who don’t know what it is like to be alive, even those with a crippling sense of entitlement. I feel for those suffering from depression that paint on their smile every morning while they are dying underneath the facade. I feel for the homosexuals, the confused, the searching. I feel for those that come from a legalistic background, working tirelessly to achieve their worth or salvation. I feel for those who have been hurt by the church, hate religion, and face judgement wherever they go.

Certainly everyone can show love to a victim. It’s much harder to show love to the victimizer. It’s easy to see the suffering of the poor, but can you spot the suffering among the rich? Being the “least of these” doesn’t always mean you have the least.

My heart is to run home with the knowledge I gain from this DTS, and bring the power of the Holy Spirit to the broken in my overindulgent, grossly affluent hometown. I want to bring healing to those who may not even know they are sick. I want to bring life and unashamed freedom in Christ to those most concerned with keeping up appearances. I know my heart is different than most, but I know it’s where I’m needed.


4 Responses to “Voice for the Voiceless Assignment”

  1. Teri Gugliotta April 17, 2010 at 8:39 am #

    ~ And again..you’re simply A M A Z I N G…just B E A U T I F U L….God sure Blessed us ALL when He made you! Just Beautiful.

  2. La Vonne Earl April 30, 2010 at 3:54 am #

    This was a wonderful blog, you touched on many of the overlooked that need love too.
    I love you and I am so proud of you!! Have a beautiful day! We all miss you.
    Love,
    Mom

  3. Deborah Buckingham April 30, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    Precious Erika,
    Your latest blog really spoke to me. You have hit a nerve in many of our American churches; so many dry, empty bones walking around!!! This also grieves my heart to no end.
    Praise God I see Him raising up youth like you who CARE and are willing to surrender to Him. Don’t stop surrending, seeking and speaking out.
    You are an amazing writer.
    God bless you always,
    Deborah

  4. Erika Earl May 1, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

    Teri, you are such an angel among us. Thank you for your constant encouragement. You always bring a smile to my face. God bless you!

    Mom, You are the greatest mother in the world. Thank you so much for all your love and support. I miss you and love you tons!

    Deborah, What you said reminds me of the Valley of Dry Bones in Ezekiel 37. I love God’s promise in verses 4-6,

    “Then He said to me, ‘Speak a prophetic message to these bones and say, ‘Dry bones, listen to the word of the Lord! This is what the Sovereign Lord says: Look! I am going to put breath into you and make you alive again! I will put flesh and muscles on you and cover you with skin. I will put breath into you, and you will come to life. Then you will know that I am the Lord.'”

    Those without an intimate relationship with the Lord and a powerful prayer life are like the dry bones in this passage. We, as believers, must prophesy over these dry bones. We must call them back to life!

    Deborah, you are such an amazing woman of God – a great example to the next generation! Thank you for your love, prayers, and generosity to me and my family. I love you lots! God bless you!

Leave a Reply

