Is That Really You, God?

23 Apr

As part of our Discipleship Training School over here at the YWAM base in Kona, we are assigned several compulsory reading assignments over the course of the semester. Our first book was written by the founder of YWAM himself, Loren Cunningham. Is That Really You, God? explores the concept of hearing and obeying the voice of God through Loren’s own personal experiences. It is fast-paced and quite the pleasurable read, broken up in easy-to-swallow bite sized stories. Since I recommend reading it for yourself I am not going to unload all the stories on you here in this blog. Instead, I will share with you the hidden gems that really grabbed my heart.

Cunningham starts off with a scene from his mid-twenties as he approaches one of the biggest decisions of his life. He must decide whether he wants to live a life of stability and comfort, riding on the success of his aunt and uncle and accepting their more-than-generous job offer or to decline, and life an unpredictable whirlwind of a life, with the probable possibility of scraping pennies together for the rest of his life to survive, sacrificing the pleasures of this world to follow the Lord’s call to be a missionary. And how was he even sure that this was the Lord calling him? Satan had placed poisonous doubt in his mind, prompting him to ask “What brashness made me think that it was a mandate from the Lord?” (p.8) Feelings of self-doubt must have been plaguing Cunningham’s mind at this moment. Who was he that the Lord would speak to him? Why would a man like Him receive such a calling? Aren’t there far more qualified people available for the job?

I know I have felt this way countless times. Satan creeps in with his plaguing skepticism, feelings of insignificance and small-mindedness and we forget that the Maker of the universe made us too. We are fearfully and wonderfully made and if the Lord has put a calling on our lives, He will see to it that we are able to walk it out.

Luckily Cunningham was confident in his Savior and trusted Him enough to turn down the posh life, for the humble (yet exciting) life of a missionary. Praise the Lord for his obedience! Because of Loren’s obedience and constant seeking of the Lord’s will in every move he made, YWAM was born in 1960. The vision that the Lord had placed on Loren’s heart over 50 years ago has now become a reality. Waves of young people are crashing over every nation bringing the life-giving water of the Gospel to all people, everywhere.

Today YWAM is helping young people to “Know God and Make Him Known” in over 1,000 locations in over 150 countries around the world, with a full-time staff of nearly 16,000.

I am now blessed enough to be a small part of the fulfillment of this vision, this dream of the Lord’s. I am one of those young people, in the process of being transformed by God and preparing to take that transforming message to the hurting, broken people of this world. I, too, have been called by the Lord, and I , too, am choosing to say “yes”. I will not let self-doubt or small-mindedness hinder what the Lord wants to do in and through me. I will not close the door on miracles because of my lack of faith. I will not make the Lord small so He can fit into a box that I am comfortable with. I have accepted that God is God and I am not. He is bigger than anything I could possibly imagine. I will never understand the height and depth and width of the majesty, awe, love, wonder, compassion, power, and strength that is my God, but that will not stop me from saying “yes” to Him.

I, too, will sacrifice dreams of wealth (in the typical understanding of the word, that is), security, stability, etc. I will place my plans for my life on the Lord’s altar and allow Him to resurrect them into something even grander than I ever dreamed for myself. (p. 196)

What do you need to put on the Lord’s altar? Do you trust Him to resurrect in you something beyond your wildest dreams? Step out with me in faith… I promise He will never let you down.

To learn more about Youth With A Mission (YWAM) please visit: http://www.ywam.org

2 Responses to “Is That Really You, God?”

  1. La Vonne Earl April 29, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    I love this Erika. I am so proud of you and happy for you!!
    I am learning so much from you!
    Love,
    Mom

  2. AAnn March 27, 2011 at 12:17 am #

    I need to know if the 2001 publication of the original “Is that really you God” has changed? I am looking for the original by Loren Cuningham only. How can I find the original publication Please?

Leave a Reply

