Making Jesus Lord

2 May

Our second reading assignment was Making Jesus Lord also by Loren Cunningham, the founder of YWAM. The main purpose of the book is to call us, as believers, to “lay down our rights” for Jesus. Especially in our modern Western society, we assign ideals like “freedom” and “independence” an almost godlike status. While these personal rights are of great worth, I believe that they do not belong to us. As a Christian, I believe, that these rights belong to the One who purchased me with His own life – Jesus Christ. I consciously choose to be His servant, a slave to His will. The book explains that this sacrifice is the only appropriate response to the sacrifice Jesus made on our account.

In the opening chapter Loren highlights a common obsession with with the possessive word “mine”. He says, “I would speak of my car, my wife, my ministry… Everything we have is given to us by God for a time, to use for His glory… When we surrender our personal rights to the Lord, for His sake and the sake of the gospel, we discover the secret of inheriting the whole world for Him.” (p. 16)

Something that I have loved about being on this campus is the freedom to go barefoot. I often take my sandals off for worship (something I have not done before this experience) and can feel the power of the significance of this act of humility. Loren highlights some of the scriptural examples of this in the second chapter. “When Moses had his first confrontation with God at the burning bush, God told him to take off his shoes because he was standing on holy ground. Boaz’s relative took his shoe off while negotiating with him over the right to marry Ruth. David, after being defeated in rebellion, left Jerusalem walking barefoot. Jesus walked barefoot to Calvary.” He goes on to further explain that in the culture of that time, going barefoot was a sign that you were a slave. A slave had no rights. A slave didn’t wear shoes. Taking your sandals off during worship is a statement from your heart to God’s saying: I am Your slave. I lay down my rights, and I am Yours completely.

The greatest example of sacrifice will always be the life of Jesus Christ. He gave up all His rights as God to be humbled as a mortal here on Earth. He became a slave for our sakes. He gave up His rights to a normal birth in exchange for a lowly manger. He gave up the right to be with His earthly family and left His widowed mother to travel in His ministry. He gave up the right to marriage, a home, and a family. He never had children and was dirt poor His whole life. He also surrendered His reputation. “As far as most people were concerned, He was an illegitimate son, raised in a town that was scorned.” (p. 18)

Then Jesus went a step further by giving up the right to “life itself and became obedient to death on a cross. Not just a normal death, but the death reserved for the worst criminals of His day.” (p. 19) Jesus not only did this to cleanse us from our sins and restore us to God, but also to show us how we are to live our lives – as servants totally surrendered to their master. God made this especially clear to us through His Word in Mark 8:34-35:

“If any man would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. For whoever would save his life will lose it; and whoever loses his life for my sake and the gospel’s will save it.”

We sing a song here with these lyrics, “I have decided to follow Jesus. No turning back, no turning back.” And I have decided to follow Jesus, and I will not turn back. I won’t go halfway, but full-throttle. I won’t risk being a lukewarm Christian, leaving a foul taste in the mouth of my Lord. I will lay all of my rights down at the foot of the Cross. I am a slave to Him with no right to anger, a family, a spouse, a good reputation, a career, finances or anything else my heart desires. From this moment on, my flesh will not make decisions for me. My feelings will not be my guide. My Lord and Savior will be my heart’s only desire.

One Response to “Making Jesus Lord”

  1. La Vonne Earl May 13, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    Through your blog I feel myself recommitting myself as His slave. I am blessed because God has used you.
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

