Matthew Chapters 20- 28

9 May

In addition to the four books we will be reading throughout the three month lecture phase of our DTS, we are also required to read the gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John, and write a summary of the way that God really spoke to us during our reading. This week I read Matthew chapters 20 through 28.

The Lord spoke to me very strongly about leadership throughout these chapters. The world defines a leader as “a guiding or directing head, a person who commands or directs others, someone who is superior, has the top position or first place.” Society tells us that to be a leader is to be praised, to have power, to gain glory. The Lord has a very different idea about leadership.

He tells us in Matthew 20:25-28,

“You know that the rulers in this world lord it over their people, and officials flaunt their authority over those under them. But among you it will be different. Whoever wants to be a leader among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first among you must become your slave. For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve others and to give His life as a ransom for many.”

To be a leader is to sacrifice. Leaders in the Lord’s Kingdom are called to sacrifice sleep, time, reputation, money, and so much more. They do not receive merit or glory of any kind, but give all the glory and honor to their Father in Heaven.

They must bear all the fruits of the spirit: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,¬†gentleness and self-control. Being a Godly leader isn’t easy, but through prayer and humility, the Lord makes it possible for those He has called to live up to His standards.

In Matthew 22:14, the Lord tells us that,

“Many are called, but few are chosen.”

The difference between being called and being chosen is what we do with the call we receive. The Lord has called me to be a leader in His Kingdom, and the fear of God is upon me. How could I handle such a task? Why would the Lord choose me? This call brings me to my knees on a daily basis. I know I am not ready yet, but I have promised my God and my community that I will step up to the plate. I will put in the hard work and run to the Lord constantly in prayer. I know He can make me the leader He wants me to be.

2 Responses to “Matthew Chapters 20- 28”

  1. Chris Poblete May 11, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    Erika, I’m stoked to have found your blog! We will be praying for you as you adore your Savior and serve him well.

    • erikaearl May 12, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

      Chris, I’m so glad you found it as well. Thanks so much for your prayers. I really appreciate it. I will be praying for you as well!

Leave a Reply

