If we ask, He will come…

4 Jun

I have been thinking and praying about how to share this story with you for about a week now. It is a story very near and dear to my heart and it has completely changed my life. Some of you may not believe what I am about to tell you, but that’s okay. I just pray that one day you, too, will have a radical encounter with the Holy Spirit. Because…

“A man with an experience is never at the mercy of a man with an argument.” -Amy Sollars

Last week in our Discipleship Training School was “Holy Spirit Week.” This often controversial teaching began with very wise instruction by an amazing woman of God named Amy Sollars.  She told us that the Holy Spirit is a real person, not an ethereal ghost or merely a feeling. He is the third person of the Trinity.

She taught us that in Eden, Adam and Eve walked with God, the apostles walked with Jesus, and today we walk with the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit is here to be our: comforter, advocate, stand-by, helper, partner, leader, intercessor, teacher, friend, guide, and counselor. What an incredible relationship! It’s certainly one I don’t want to live without.

The Holy Spirit dwells in every believer, and He brings with Him great power. In Acts 1:8, Jesus says, “… you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth”

But our encounters with the Holy Spirit should not be focused on power, it should be on building a relationship. Great power comes through a strong relationship with God. If you truly are the friend of God, everywhere you go Heaven will open.

And boy, did Heaven open last week!

I feel like I must preface what I am about to share with the explanation of my history with the Holy Spirit. I have never, ever, in my life fallen to the ground because the Holy Spirit had come upon me. My heart has never burned, fully aflame to the point of my body overheating. I have never had some kind of out-of-body experience. In fact, if I’m truly honest, I would have to say that I’m not sure if I even believed that those types of radical experiences were entirely authentic. The thought had certainly crossed my mind before that maybe these were manufactured symptoms of overemotional, weak-minded people. But somewhere deep in my heart there was a small, barely visible flicker of hope. I longed desperately to believe that I, too, could have a radical relationship with God. I wanted to believe that this was real.

And, as always, God was faithful. He took my tiny shred of hope and revealed Himself to me in a way I had only dreamed of.

Last Wednesday, Amy led us in a time of prayer, asking God to reveal to us our giftings in the Holy Spirit. She asked us to stand with our hand and hearts open to receive the love and insight of God. I stood, faithfully waiting for something to happen. I prayed, I begged, I pleaded that this would not pass me by, that I would not be the only one in the room unaffected, the only one unable to feel.

And then the team leading the prayer walked up to me and Samuel Rodriguez, an amazing man of God, told me this…

“Don’t worry, it’s not going to pass you by, it’s not going to leave you out. This is yours, too. As a daughter of God you are fully entitled to this.”

God knew just what I needed to hear. He knew exactly what to say to get my attention and captivate my heart.

Samuel then prayed that my heart would break for what breaks God’s. I immediately fell to the ground in pain, my heart literally breaking as I thought of the people that had not experienced what I was experiencing in that moment. I felt such a desperate drive to bring the love and reality of God to His people everywhere. After a few minutes I got up, and looked around. With each classmate I saw, God showed me His great love for each of them individually. He showed me what a priceless treasure each of them is. I wept for hours for the lonely, the lost, and the unloved. I smiled when God revealed to me his great delight with each of His creations. My heart had been schockpaddled out of its apathy, and resurrected to a completely new life. After God painfully refined me of my critical spirit, He placed in me an intense compassion for all people. I am so grateful for this wonderful gift.

A while later I walked up to Amy and asked her to pray for me to receive the gift of faith. She said to me, “It took faith for you to come up here, and God loves you so much. You are His precious daughter, how could he deny you the purest desire of your heart. He has given you the gift you have asked for, now walk in it. Don’t be worried that this gift doesn’t fit you. It is perfect for you. You will be from this day forward a woman of great faith.” I fell to the floor, unable to stand, completely overcome by the power of the Holy Spirit.

What an incredible blessing! I wept, so thankful for my Father’s neverending love and generosity with me. And, by His wonderful grace, I am a great woman of faith. I am walking in my gift, sometimes even when I don’t feel it, and that in itself is faith.

I have great faith that you, too, can have God light your heart on fire. I believe He has been waiting to do so since the moment you were born. I believe that if you ask, He will come. I believe that if you wait in expectation, the Holy Spirit will reveal Himself to you, and He can become your very best friend. I believe that the Holy Spirit is for everyone, not just young radicals or crazy old people. Pray a bold prayer today. Ask Him to come, and believe that He will. This will not pass you by. I promise you. Better yet, God promises you. And He always keeps His promises.

2 Responses to “If we ask, He will come…”

  1. Deborah June 5, 2010 at 3:52 am #

    Dearest Erika,
    Thank you for sharing this incredibly encouraging experience with us. I relished every word and I too cry for dry bones in our churches.
    The Holy Spirit is our partner in life and oh how rich and meaingful life is when we walk hand in hand with Him.
    All my love to you!
    Deborah

  2. La Vonne Earl June 5, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    It is so wonderful to know that you feel what I feel and that you have that burning desire for others to feel it too! How great is our god! I too long for all to come to know him. I am grateful you are on a mission to bring this desire to those thirsty souls.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

