Well… Hello There World

27 Jun

It was my heart’s desire to be able to take the time to respond to each and every person who commented on my blog individually, and in time I still plan to do so. For now, however, since I am leaving for Dharmapuri, India this Thursday and still have many preparations to make, I am praying that this post will some how communicate what is in my heart to you, my wonderful readers.

First of all, I want the whole world to know that I had no idea I was going to be on Freshly Pressed. “Becoming famous” via WordPress is a laughable thought to me. I am far more interested in cultivating relationships with people and encouraging them in their journey with the Lord. I am interested in answering tough questions from those who seek answers, though I don’t have all the answers myself. Please feel free to ask me questions and offer your own opinions, but please be respectful of this place and of the people here.

That being said I want to offer some context to those of you who are newer followers of my blog. Since no post or opinion or blog was created in a vacuum, it may help you to understand what I mean if you understand a bit more about me. I am a 21-year-old American girl from California. I’m a follower of Jesus and I’m currently following Him on a mission with an amazing interdenominational organization called Youth With A Mission (or YWAM). I have been in a Discipleship Training School in Kona, Hawaii since April of this year and this Thursday, July 1st, 2010 I am heading with a team of 20 young people to India to: serve the people, live among them, learn from them, and share with them the Good News of Jesus Christ. I will be stationed in Dharmapuri (in Southern India) for three months.

I am not at all interested in changing the culture of India. God loves India with her beautiful colors and bustling cities, and I know I will love her too. An organized system of degradation, however, is not culture. Whether it is upheld through religion or social structure is irrelevant. Basic morality, I believe, transcends culture, religion, and society. It is universal. Human beings are created equal. I believe they are created equal because their Creator loved each and every one of them and made them in His image. God loves His children more than we will ever understand, and He has called us to love each other as He has loved us. Wherever there is hate, wherever there is injustice, wherever there are lies that slander the very image of God, I will stand in opposition.

What right do I have to do that? Long before there were wars, long before the idea of conquering land and drawing political lines of power, long before taxation or presidents or kings or queens, this world belonged to its Creator, the one true King. Though pride and greed and hatred have invaded this planet, God never signed over the deed. This world is still His. India is His. America is His. And His culture is one of love. So when God’s children bring His pure, unadultered love, what they are really doing is restoring this planet to its true culture.

Through prayer, married with action and sacrifice, this world will be restored. Lasting restoration, not through human strength, but through the power of God is a reality. I know God longs to heal the hearts of His children, to lift them out of their darkest pit, to give them a new identity. To those that cry, “Where is God in this world of heartbreak and despair?” I cry with you! Jesus told us to weep with those that weep and my heart literally breaks for the heartbroken. This is a fallen world made broken through the free will of man. And though I’m just a broke missionary, I offer you a priceless gem…

Silver and gold have I none, but such as I have give I thee…

All I have is love. I will love you. I will care for you. I will cry with you and work with you. Take heart, love will restore this world.

To those of you that love me, I love you.

To those of you that hate me, I love you.

In Him,

Erika

19 Responses to “Well… Hello There World”

  1. Joe P. June 27, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    Erica,

    Nice to “meet You” I am so happy to hear about young people like your self and others take their faith seriously.

    We will add you to our prayer list. Looking forward to updates.

    Your Brother in Christ

    Joe P.

  2. La Vonne Earl June 27, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    May you multiply many in Him, the God that gave you your beautiful heart to share with the people of India. We love you and our prayers join yours and rise up to our God to bring His love to these people. We will miss you terribly.
    Mom and Dad, Matthew and Nicholas.

    • Parasaran June 28, 2010 at 9:49 am #

      Converting the whole world into christianity will not end the problems of world..

      Let Me ask u one thing

      Who Created Cow ,Goat,Hen..etc..is it jesus ?
      Dont they have their right to live.
      U kill & eat them Since they cant speak & ask u to stop killing them?

      Christianity is fake & Rubbish..

  3. 1623harps June 27, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    How well put and incredible that you seek to give Him the glory. May the Lord bless you for taking the message of His saving grace to the ends of the earth.

    YOUR Heavenly Father is smiling with joy.

    In Christ,
    Greg Jones
    16:23 Custom Harmonicas

  4. Mish June 27, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    I was in India in Dec 2006 for a month. i wasn’t a christian at the time, but it’s such an incredible country. it’s VERY confronting at times. I would encourage you to not only love ON people…but for you to be LOVED on from those around you as well. I have realised that through life I have grown more when I let those around me impact me whilst loving them. Enjoy and I can’t wait to read more about your adventures.

    • John Scudder June 27, 2012 at 3:45 am #

      Hi sister in Christ,
      its great to know that you have accepted Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior.
      Thank you for your love for India.

      His grace will lead you in your faith journey. Amen!

  5. Grace Dooley June 27, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    May the God of all grace and mercy be with you and the people you will be ministering too. I will also keep you in my prayers and lift you to Him who can take care of you and protect you.

    *Grace* for the Journey

  6. cliffdaniels June 27, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    Great posts. I would how ever take issue with one thing. G0D does love the people of India but the “organized system of degradation” has been ingrained in the people for hundreds if not thousands of years. The caste system has become the system of hierarchy in India. While there are some beautiful parts of Indian culture there are also some dark sides which is true with every culture on the planet.

    I have been living in India for the better part of a year. I have seen how high caste believers will not go to the same fellowship as a low caste believer. This is something that only G0D can change in these people. Only He can reveal to them that this system that they have lived in for their whole lives is an evil lie.

    The answer to every problem on earth is with out exception Je$u$ Chr*st.

  7. David Reid June 28, 2010 at 2:09 am #

    Hi Erika,

    What a wonderful heart expressed with such elegant words! May Jesus bless you as you take Him to the unreached. Love your blog and will pray for you as I see updates!

    Pastor David Reid
    west of Atlanta, GA

  8. Nikhil Joshi June 28, 2010 at 2:11 am #

    Everyone is created equal; oh but hold on, only the ones who are Christian. Everyone else is a TAD bit lower-equals, but only until they accept Jesus. I would call your ideology something harsh, but for the sake of gentility, I will call it “counterintuitive.”

    And I quote from Mahatma Gandhi: “I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians.” And if you are truly, deeply concerned about the Dalits, you will take notice of that statement and UNDERSTAND what it means, for Gandhi was the biggest voice of the Dalit.

    Although I have all reason to do so, I am NOT going to assume how you’re going to help the downtrodden in India. But if you are really going to help the Dalits achieve empowerment in India, do so not on basis of religion or ANY God. Hey, I have an idea. How about joining hands with secular Non-Profit Organizations in India who have done some spectacular work for Dalits in specific and against the Caste System in general? You want some names? Give me a shout, I’ll give you a spreadsheet.

    Oh and by the way, nice touch on that last line of the post. Sarcasm was almost my middle name too. My grandma apparently said she wouldn’t touch me if I was named that. Oh well. *sigh*

  9. CC June 28, 2010 at 5:28 am #

    Erika,
    You can feel the love in your writing and it’s truly wonderful to know there are people out there who think the way you do, but also then act on those thoughts! You are awesome, girl, and God loves you! (i’m sure you already know this, but some days we just need to hear it!) My prayers are with you this week!
    Zeph. 3:17
    With the love of Christ,
    CC

  10. Logos Amicus June 28, 2010 at 7:36 am #

    Good luck with your journey…

  11. Parasaran June 28, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    Hi Erica

    Welcome to India

    have a look @ the below link

    http://www.stephen-knapp.com/christian_persecution_in_india.htm

    Hope u have a good stay in Tamilnadu

    Vantharai Vazhavaikkum Thamizhagam

    Welcome

  12. Stephanie Cook June 28, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    it’s a small world…for the first time in abt 2 months, i logged on to wordpress and there your blog was. i loved your posts, and then as i looked closer i realized you were with ywam. a closer look showed you are in kona…where i just came from! i did my dts starting last sept., and went to israel for my outreach. nothing can prepare you for the change that’s abt to take place in your heart! give india some love for me 🙂

  13. Christopher Mikkelson June 29, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    Hey Erika

    Sounds like your doing a great thing over in India! I hope in the three months your there, you reach lots of people with the good news of Jesus Christ’s love for them.

    Have a safe and Blessed trip.

    -Chris

    p.s if you ever have an interest in listening to any good christian rock while your in India, head over to my website at myspace.com/theflightbrigade

  14. Internet Hindus June 30, 2010 at 3:12 am #

    All those Jesus lovers should understand the futility of such blog posts and that they have caused nothing but pain and misery to world and created lower IQ individuals. No wonder those countries which are non-monotheistic religions are slowly dominating the world. Eg: India and China.
    Now for all those who think this girl who understood caste system and what not about hinduism in 8days, please rethink and read the “Indica” by famous greek traveller Megasthenes. He clearly describes what a wonderful land India was without slaves and poor people. About how every creature was treated with extreme divinity. If thats not enough Huein Tsang – the chinese traveller writes similarly about absence of any slavery and caste system.
    And now for the block-buster, who brought caste system and inflicted ‘Divide and Rule’ strategy on Indians is left to anybody’s guess. The british, portugese, dutch and french utilized Indian resources to break the very backbone of India.
    Koenraad Elst, a great Indologist who did his doctoral study in Indian History talks about the christian agenda and mischief in his articles. Here is the link http://koenraadelst.bharatvani.org/articles/chr/christiandalit.html. For the rest of people blind enough to see caste system only and an opportunity for conversion, please carry on and face the consequences later.
    Jai Hind

  15. evalineoneal June 30, 2010 at 10:11 am #

    I love reading your writing. I feel almost revived by it. You seem to be a very blessed young woman. God has great plans for you and you have taken a great leap for them.

    Good luck in India

    -Eva

  16. how to get over your ex July 25, 2010 at 8:39 pm #

    I can attest that your headline “well&#8230 hello there world here i am, lord. send me.…” one of the well read article I have read today, it reminds me of people who work with their idea before they start something.

  17. John Scudder June 27, 2012 at 3:40 am #

    Hi Erica,
    Its nice to know about your trip to Dharmapuri. I & my wife hasm just started a ministry (orphanage & evangelism) in Dharmapuri. If you ever get an opportunity please visit us.
    May His blessings upon you.
    John

Leave a Reply

