Just Your Neighborhood Jesus

8 Jul

Being here in India my eyes have been pried open to the reality of the world. The depravity, poverty, and sin that defile this beautiful earth are so saddening, but that’s not all my eyes see. Amidst the piles of garbage, the rickshaws moving at full speed, and all the noise and smells, I see Jesus. He is in every person I see. Their eyes are mirror reflections of His. Their hands are modeled after His. We are, in fact, made in His image, and with large population here in India, His image is unavoidable. Jesus is in the troublemaking boy in our neighborhood, the tireless mother of four, the crippled leper, and the tailor that stitched together my punjabis yesterday. Have you loved on your neigborhood Jesus lately?

5 Responses to “Just Your Neighborhood Jesus”

  1. Chase July 9, 2010 at 6:39 am #

    Those photos took me right back to India.
    The sights, the sounds, the colors, the rickshaws.
    All of it.

    And you’re so right. Jesus is in the least of these. Both in India, and in our neighborhoods back home.
    What an awesome perspective to hold conscious while you’re over there.
    Can’t wait to hear more.

    • erikaearl July 11, 2010 at 12:06 am #

      Chase,
      I can’t wait to get together with you and share stories when I come home. I feel like we have a kindred connection to this beautiful place. Let me know how I can be praying for you.
      In Him,
      Erika

  2. jterrill July 11, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

    Incredible insight!!! I hope you won’t mind if I share this with my friends on twitter and facebook. Praying for you and your team.

    • erikaearl July 17, 2010 at 4:03 am #

      Thanks so much for your prayers. I would be honored to have you share this with your friends. I pray that God will bless you today!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Just Your Neighborhood Jesus (via Here I Am, Lord. Send Me.) « jeanne's blog - July 11, 2010

    […] Being here in India my eyes have been pried open to the reality of the world. The depravity, poverty, and sin that defile this beautiful earth are so saddening, but that's not all my eyes see. Amidst the piles of garbage, the rickshaws moving at full speed, and all the noise and smells, I see Jesus. He is in every person I see. Their eyes are mirror reflections of His. Their hands are modeled after His. We are, in fact, made in His image, and wit … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

