Meet Christina adul Jessica

22 Jul

Her beautiful brown eyes captivated me from the second I first saw her. She stared at me and smiled, believing from the depths of her tiny heart that I was special. Her face shone with radiance glowing from her chocolate brown skin. I watched her as our team sang and she clapped along enthusiastically. I saw the wheels of her mind turning in awe as I shared the story of Daniel in the lion’s den, and when our program was finally finished we were drawn to each other as if by magnetic force. I grabbed her tiny hands as we began to dance to the music. I spun her around and her tattered dress twirled with the motion. She clung to me, squeezing my hand tightly, believing that I offered her something more. Instinctively I took my bright pink scarf off and wrapped it around her bony shoulders. Her eyes lit up and her stature became taller, her heightened confidence on display. Purpose, identity, and value enveloped her in iridescent pink. She raced off to show her friends, skipping proudly across the dirt path in front of the orphanage. I smiled and my throat tightened as I watched her spirit fly. Her name is Christina adul Jessica, quite the regal name for an orphan, but I believe it is well deserved. Despite her poverty she has a rich inheritance. She is a daughter of the Most High King, a princess in His eternal Kingdom. The pink scarf was nothing more than an outward symbol of her inner royalty, buried deep under her 7 years of experience in a world defined by caste. I watched the beautiful moment unfolding before my eyes. For just a minute there was no brahmin and no dalit, no rich and no poor. She was just Christina adul Jessica, a beloved daughter of God. I prayed for her, my heart bursting with pride as I saw her eyes tightly shut, her brow furrowed, and her hands clasped tightly together. “Stotrum, stotrum, stotrum,” she repeated as I prayed, praising the Lord in her native  tongue. As I was about to leave, she hurriedly removed the scarf, bunching it up in her tiny hands and extending it back towards me. “No,” I said, “It’s yours.” She didn’t dare to believe me, so she asked Charles, the orphanage director. He looked at me and I nodded my head. He smiled and told her again that it was a gift, hers to keep. She ran to me and jumped into my arms, hugging me tightly. Was this the first gift she had ever received? My heart broke for her and the floodgates struggled to keep the tears from falling down my cheeks. She deserves so much more than this, so much more than just a pink scarf. There will be a day, I thought. Her Father has so much for her, more than I could ever give. Until then, I’ll pray for the orphaned princess and her pink scarf.

3 Responses to “Meet Christina adul Jessica”

  1. La Vonne July 23, 2010 at 3:25 am #

    I praise god for you and your beautiful heart to serve and give so tirelessly!!
    You are an angel.

  2. honeenja July 23, 2010 at 7:29 am #

    I never get tired of reading your stories being a missionary of God. I cried as I was reading this.God made you a great writer to touch souls like mine. I pray that God will continue to bless you and your missions. I thank God for you. 🙂

  3. kayejohn July 23, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    Aww, this story made the floodgates of MY eyes burst open!

Leave a Reply

