The Reality of the Secret Place

29 Jul

I close my eyes and my vision fades to black, pressing tightly on the brake pedal of my mind, the wheels coming to a squealing halt, the sound of metal on metal paining my nerves. I patiently set up the road blocks, one by one, excluding stray thoughts from entering this precious fortress. Not right now. This time is more precious than any other. Noises awake the stray beasts, piquing their curious nature to investigate the sacred happenings, to intrude on the communion, so I tiptoe carefully, holding my breath as I move through the battlefield, avoiding the landmines of distraction. I expertly make my way down the dirt path, as cars and motorcycles and buses whiz by me in every direction. I turn off at a winding cobblestone trail. There is no marker to indicate the way, no street sign, no landmark, but I know the place well. I check behind me to ensure that I am not being followed. It would ruin everything if they discovered our secret place. They would taint its purity, slander its holiness. I could never let that happen. I ducked under a willow tree, it’s long green branches brushing over me. My nerves tingled with excitement. I’m getting closer. I look up to the sky, noticing the sun setting. The timing couldn’t be more perfect, but then again it always is. The corners of my mouth curl in ecstasy and a knowing smile creeps across my face. My eyes are wide with expectation. I skip along the path, approaching the wrought iron gate with the thrill of a marathon runner reaching the finish line. My hands clasp the lock, and I admire the craftsmanship. The steel feels cool and smooth and I reach for the key. It is an antique, secured around my neck by a golden chain. I would never take it off for fear of losing it. Nothing is more precious to me. I slip it carefully into the lock. As I hear the gears clicking the sky explodes with color. Royal purples, bright oranges, and shimmering golds splash across the perfect blue sky. Expertly placed clouds refract the light of the setting sun. Slowly I enter the garden, my mouth hanging in awe. The scene is familiar, and amazingly new every time. My Lover runs to meet me at the gate. He has been waiting for me here in our secret place. He looks at me and He is delighted with what He sees. Oh how His love satisfies me. I look to nothing else. And though the world tries to deny it, we both bask in its reality. The reality of the secret place.

3 Responses to “The Reality of the Secret Place”

  1. mysinglemomlife July 30, 2010 at 6:58 am #

    This is the most beautiful post. :o)

    It so brings me there…to that secret place where the lover of my soul and I meet…if only I could get there through the distraction and redirections of every day.

    Thank you for bringing that place into focus. For reminding me how beautiful it is when I choose to go there, disregarding all else. I am His. He is mine.

    • erikaearl August 2, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

      This really blesses my heart to hear that my writings have drawn you closer to the Lord. Nothing could make me happier. You are His and He is yours! Claim it every day!
      All my love,
      Erika

  2. TiA September 23, 2010 at 1:46 am #

    What a beautiful peice. I don’t say that lightly, either! I’m usually very critical of writing but this is so very beautiful and articulate and well-written. God is already using you in such great ways! But He has an even more awesome future laid out for you šŸ™‚
    Keep running towards Him!!!
    Love in Christ,
    -TiA

Leave a Reply

