The Spirit Realm

13 Aug

My friend Kailyn and I chose to go prayer walking in downtown Vellore today. We intended to bathe the chaotic city with the peace of the Holy Spirit, leaving lasting fruits for all to see the glory of God. We prayed for several of the city’s homeless, trusting entirely on the Lord to communicate directly to their hearts as we were stuck without a translator. As always, the Lord is faithful, and we could truly see his hand touching the hearts of the men and women we interacted with. As we continued about our day, winding through the bustling city, we noticed a Hindu temple at the end of a long dirt road. We decided to enter it and pray over it. I approached the building with confidence. It’s just a building, I thought. The bold colors scream loudly in the face of all that pass by this busy dirt road, mocking them. The carved figures proudly flaunt their fresh flower necklaces, made in adoration by dedicated hands, hands that barely made enough money to feed their families. How dare these powerless carvings rob their worshippers of what little they have, offering nothing in return but social acceptance. A wave of disgust washed over me. I slipped off my sandals and passed under the threshold of the Hindu temple, stepping over the colorful paintings on the concrete floor. The thick scent of incense filled my nostrils, nearly knocking me over. My body barely had time to enter this shrine of wickedness before I felt it… Death. Death as thick as a wool blanket covered my eyes and though I looked around I could see nothing else. Blackness and decay poisoned my lungs with every breath I took. My spirit felt as though someone had tied a 100 pound weight to it… Heavy. Then the spirit of fear slithered down my spine, leaving my every hair standing on edge. I looked behind me, feeling the looming presence of someone unwelcome over my shoulder. I didn’t see him, but I felt him, his evil grin widening as he opened his hands, slipping his long, filthy fingers around my throat. My heart raced, and as quickly as I entered, I was gone, nothing but a tiny flicker of light, extinguished momentarily by the thick darkness of Satan himself. But the power of death is nothing compared to the power within me. As I breathed the uncontaminated air of the outside world, the Lord mercifully poured His clarity over my mind, again reminding me that the same power that conquered the grave lives in me. He placed His confidence in my heart and I prayed loudly from the doorway of the temple, proclaiming life and confidence and truth over this evil place. I asked the Lord to rain down clarity, to detangle the web of lies woven beyond the painted gate. I begged for revelation. I cried for salvation. Intercession took a new shape as I literally stood in the gap between the spirits of life and death, and though some of the people reading this will say I’ve lost it entirely, I couldn’t be more excited. Day by day the Lord is widening my vision to a whole new world, a world unseen and unnoticed by most of the people here on earth. And though the spiritual realm is largely ignored, often laughed at, it doesn’t make it any less real. I’ve felt it and I’ve seen it firsthand. We’re in a war here, my friends. I exhort you to join the winning side.

13 Responses to “The Spirit Realm”

  1. Lindsy August 13, 2010 at 6:37 am #

    Awesome Erica! Keep fighting in intersession! Put on the whole armor of God. You are agreeing with holy spirit Ephesians 6:10-20. I will be praying for you as you fulfill the great commission girl!

    • erikaearl September 4, 2010 at 12:49 am #

      Lindsy,

      Thanks so much for all your prayers.

      Blessings to you!
      Erika

  2. teeveebee August 13, 2010 at 7:05 am #

    Greater is He that is in you than he who is in the world! I am enjoying your blog very much. Great writing and photos and glorifying to the Lord. Have you ever read Ravi Zacharias’ auto-biography: “Walking from East to West: God in the Shadow”? I think you might like it (if you haven’t already read it). Blessings to you.

    • erikaearl September 4, 2010 at 12:48 am #

      Thanks so much for your encouragement. I will definitely have to check out that book. I love a good encouraging autobiography.

      In Him,
      Erika

  3. Dustin Wilson August 13, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    Just want to send some encouragement with the warfare that you do on your trips and that its awesome that the Lord revealed this to you and that you didn’t let that spirit of fear dwell within you and rebuked it. Im encouraged by you and admire your strength. 🙂

    Luke 10:19
    “Behold,I have given you authority to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy, and nothing shall hurt you”.
    Ephesians 6:10-18
    ” Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. 18And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints.”

    • erikaearl August 14, 2010 at 5:02 am #

      Thanks Dustin! It’s always good to hear from someone back home! Those verses are awesome. We have so much power through the Lord. I am so thankful for this revelation. I can’t wait to come home and reveal more of His glory in California. Let’s get together and chat when I get back. Also, let me know how I can be praying for you!

      In Him,
      Erika

      • Dustin Wilson August 19, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

        Ya id love to chat when you get back from your trips. I look forward to it. Prayer?? mmm.. That God would wreck our home church crave with the holy spirit more!! haha. What do you need prayer for?

  4. Su August 13, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    Erika,

    I have goosebumps! I so admire your obedient heart. You are right when you say that many fail to acknowledge or engage the spiritual world. I think many are afraid. Those who have encountered it, or satan himself, know the same truth you do: there is nothing to fear if the Lord is with you. Greater is He who is within me… 🙂

    Keep loving and praying for the lost, for the bound, for those in darkness and against the work of the spiritual forces that keep them that way.

    ~Su

  5. Jeanne August 13, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    I am stunned at this post; how can you go to another country, and be so judgemental about their beliefs? You sensed ‘death’, you say. You also mention how you were disgusted at how the worshippers were being robbed of the little money they made, because it went in creating a glorious (perhaps over the top) place of prayer. Doesn’t this sound/ feel familiar? Christian churches are one of the most lavish in the world, do yourself a favor and go visit the Vatican. Where do you think that money comes from? It comes from people, all over the world, some rich, some average and some poor, who want to contribute and build a sanctuary for their beliefs. Beliefs that are neither greater nor inferior to yours. The people you meet need adequate public health, good education, jobs that bring enough money so they can feed themselves and their children. They need the ressources so they can look towards the future with confidence and anticipation, not dread at not knowing whether they can pay rent or feed themselves. I enjoy your posts, yet this one had a ‘colonizing’ feel to it. It’s unacceptable that you go to a foreign country, giving hungry people words taken from a book, while you call their belief system ‘satan’.

  6. PeACEMAKER August 13, 2010 at 10:25 pm #

    Hi Erika,
    Nice you visited a temple. While I visit churches, I find God- the one – there also. It is everywhere. Even in Temples but mainly in humanbeings.
    As to the dark indoors, all of the Hindu Gods are placed in a Dark Enclosure. This is called Garbha-Griha, litterally meaning the home of the infant, i.e. the womb, or very start of Life. Its not Death as you write. Probably you associated it with Death, because different people use incence for different occasions. Incence is just for purifying the air we breathe.
    I agree that the haves should help the have-nots. But there is no Devil and War between religions and Temples and Churches…All serve Life…Please!!!

  7. Arjun Pandava August 15, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    You write of the temple as if it were a place of Satan and demons. What you, and many other missionaries, need to recognize is that a house of God is a house of God. It doesn’t matter if you don’t think the “Indian” or “Hindoo” God is the same as your God, you still need to respect a place of worship. Did you see any dead bodies inside the temple?

    It’s already been mentioned that Christian cathedrals and churches were built with tithes. But guess what? The construction of a temple would have been funded by well to do merchants, politicans, and kings. It would’ve created jobs in the construction, jobs for priests and maintenence, jobs to support the gardens, etc. It would’ve offered social services to the local citizens, and would have been a place of refuge.

    These temples don’t recieve nearly as much money as they should. The donations given to the temples are taken by the government, and then used for totally unrelated things. Money that could’ve gone towards helping the people who frequent the temple is instead used by government officials to entertain themselves and guests.

    I’ve been to churches before, and I never felt as if “Satan” was laughing at me. After my visits, I never told my family and friends that the smell of multiple perfumed and cologned bodies sitting in a cramped space, and sweating into their clothes bothered me. You say that you’re in India to do God’s work, but you have a “holier-than-thou” attitude that makes that very work impossible.

  8. Juice August 17, 2010 at 7:17 am #

    I have felt that sense of oppression before. We are so unaware of the spirtual warfare that occurs all around us. Thank you for sharing your experience.

  9. Nikhil Joshi September 27, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

    Wow, what ignorance, what arrogance! Indeed, may the Lord give you wisdom. I’ll pray for you too.

Leave a Reply

