Lukewarm Coffee… Who can stand it?

17 Feb

I’m not much of a coffee drinker. My husband is (and most of the world). I much prefer tea, but whatever your beverage of choice you either order it iced or hot. There isn’t a medium warm option. That’s because it’s gross. It just doesn’t taste right, because it’s not the way it was made to be. Coffee beans have a delicious and powerful aroma when they are hot. Tea is refreshing and thirst-quenching when set on ice. It’s what they were made for.

Similarly, the Lord is equally disgusted with lukewarm believers. I believe we have all fallen into this category at one point or another (or at multiple times) in our walk with Him. It’s easy to get distracted. Even some of life’s greatest joys can be a distraction. I was wildly distracted by our wedding planning process last summer, and now my job consumes a huge portion of my day. It’s easy to say we love the Lord, to keep His commandments, and attend church once a week, but then forget to really bask in His presence and communicate with our King. It’s something I am completely guilty of, and something that He has been talking to me about lately. He’s just so sweet about it, though.

“Erika, I miss my girl…”

How could we deny Him? How could we forget the Slaughtered Lamb that paid the ultimate price for our deliverance? Jesus, I am sorry. I repent. I’m coming back to my first romance with the Lover of my soul… I want to be ablaze with His glory. A refreshing life-giving water to this valley of dry bones. I was not created to be lukewarm. He told me so this morning.

3 Responses to “Lukewarm Coffee… Who can stand it?”

  1. motornaolja February 19, 2012 at 11:46 pm #


    Hi, can I use your post on my website with a linkback?

  2. motornaolja March 3, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

    olja
    Hey, can I use your article on my website with a linkback?

Leave a Reply

