You’re Not Just Wishful Thinking

10 Jul

We’re not naive, as believers. Not children hoping to cling to a jolly bearded man in a red suit at Christmastime, though they know deep down it’s foolish. We’re not merely optimistic, believing conveniently in a better place for those we love who have passed. Our God is not a fictional coping mechanism for our brokenness.

It’s easy to let these whispers of the enemy drift too long in our minds. They’re everywhere. I’ve seen all too many of my friends fall prey to these whisperings, claiming that my Jesus is nothing more than smoke and mirrors and that the goosebumps you feel during worship are just the product of a good bass and a lot of hype.

And there have been moments when I’ve wondered, too.

There have been many times when I’ve prayed for the sick and they were not healed. When I’ve called “Holy Spirit, come…” and felt nothing. When I’ve knocked on the door, so to speak, and…heard silence reply from the other side.

So what do we do with this? Do these times debunk Christianity altogether? Does this mean that we’ve all bought into the world’s biggest sham of all time?

That’s your call. What you do with these times is up to you.

But as for me, I’ve decided that there’s just too much evidence on the side of Heaven.

I’ve seen brokenness and divorce and sorrow and pain in this world, sure. But I’ve also seen triumphant love stories flying in the face of all the world’s statistics. I’ve seen too many beautiful sunsets and heard too many stories of the miraculous. I’ve gotten far too many goosebumps during worship and I’ve felt the whoooosh of the Spirit as He dances through a room.

So, I’m going to choose to wait a little longer for the Spirit to come. I’m going to knock a little louder at the door of my Savior. I’m going to pray again. And again. And again… until the lame walk and the deaf hear. Call it foolish if you wish, but I have been anchored by my few beautiful and treasured experiences in the throneroom of God. He’s given me a promise and I believe He will keep it.

I have decided to follow Jesus. No turning back, no turning back.

4 Responses to “You’re Not Just Wishful Thinking”

  1. Joe P July 10, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    Amen sister!

    • Anil July 10, 2012 at 10:28 am #

      I think there is enough of incidents that happen in once life to either positively support the existing of supreme power or deny its existing all together. I do not know which set of experience is dominant on your thought process at a given time but my question is somewhat different.

      Accepting presence of Supreme Power of its denial is one thing but even if I were to accept the presence of supreme power, how can one claim that it is of this type or that type or of this form or that form. Or your salvation would only happen if you believe this one particular path. I think so far as any and all religions of the worlds only focused on discussing the metaphysical and presence of supreme power or not, we could have health discussion (so what if not conclusive) but when the religions start dictating the terms and conditions as well as medium and format of this acceptance….thats where my problem begin with religion.

      • erikaearl July 10, 2012 at 10:43 am #

        I can see your problem with making a definitive decision regarding which path leads to salvation. It’s an internal wrestling match that can only be decided through the Holy Spirit and His personal revelations to your own heart, not through the opinions of others. As for me, I believe that accepting Jesus Christ as your Savior and that He died for the forgiveness of your sins is the one and only way to Heaven. Fortunately, with regard to your statement about terms and conditions, Jesus has done away with the law and we are saved only by His grace. I hope your spirit finds peace with some of these questions and that the Holy Spirit will breathe revelation and clarity over your heart.

  2. La Vonne July 10, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    Amen! Praise God for His amazing grace.

Leave a Reply

